Davis and Wedge Named VaSID Football All-State First Team

Davis and Wedge Named VaSID Football All-State First Team

BRIDGEWATER, Va. — The Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) announced Thursday, the 2019 College Division All-State Football Teams with safety Neil Davis and running back Akiva Wedge, each named to the All-State First Team.

The honors mark the first time the Knights have had players named to the All-State First Team in the program's Division III era. 

Davis and Wedge were also honored together in Southern Virginia's first season in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference with All-ODAC First Team recognition. 

In addition to all-conference honors, Davis was named to the All-South Region Third Team, the first to do so in program history. This is the third consecutive season he has earned the award following two All-State Second Team honors. Davis was named the ODAC Defensive Player of the Week for Nov. 4. The safety led the team in tackles (80) and tackles for loss (8.5). He tallied three interceptions, including a program-record 103-yard pick-six and seven pass breakups. 

Wedge collects his second VaSID honors following All-State Second Team last season. He produced the best season of a running back in the program's history going over 1,000+ yards for the second straight season, becoming the single-season record holder in rushing yards (1,072), defeating his record of 1,032 yards. He also holds single-season records in rushing attempts (202), rushing yards per game (107.2), longest rush (75 yards) and is tied for rushing touchdowns with eight. Wedge was named ODAC Player of the Week and D3football.com Team of the Week following a program-record of 237 rushing yards. 

VaSID names 37 all-state teams in 22 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.

2019 VaSID All-State Football College Team:

 Offensive Player of the Year: Jay Scroggins, Bridgewater College

 Defensive Player of the Year: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College

 Offensive Rookie of the Year: Viante Tucker, Bridgewater College

 Defensive Rookie of the Year: Johnathan Terrell, Averett University

 Coach of the Year: Michael Clark, Bridgewater College

 First Team 

 QB: Jay Scroggins, Bridgewater College

 RB: Tre Frederick, Randolph-Macon College

 RB: Akiva Wedge, Southern Virginia University

 WR: Major Morgan, Hampden-Sydney College

 WR: Derrick Yates, Emory & Henry College

 TE: Conner Kleffman, Bridgewater College

 OL: Sean Clark, Washington and Lee University

 OL: Cole Cooksey, Bridgewater College

 OL: Will Hoffman, Bridgewater College

 OL: Jordan Patti, Ferrum College

 OL: Tyler Weterrings, Emory & Henry College


 DL: Josh Fleenor, Emory & Henry College

 DL: Ben James, Christopher Newport University

 DL: Da'von Keith, Emory & Henry College

 DL: Joseph Ledbetter, Averett University

 LB: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College

 LB: Gary Ramey Jr., Bridgewater College

 LB: DaMarcus Wimbush, Bluefield College

 CB: De'Angelo Barr, Randolph-Macon College

 CB: Chase Rosenthal, Bridgewater College

 S: Neil Davis, Southern Virginia University

 S: Nate Hill, Shenandoah University 

 PK: Rhett Andersen, Hampden-Sydney College

 P: Cole Westberry, Averett University

 RS: Joshua Tapscott, Averett University

  Second Team 

 QB: Jacob Wright, Averett University

 RB: Demetreus Jalepes, Bridgewater College

 RB: Joshua Tapscott, Averett University

 WR: Montgomery Owen, Washington and Lee University

 WR: Casey Stewart, Shenandoah University

 TE: Sam Tanner, Randolph-Macon College

 OL: Michael Head, Averett University

 OL: Will Jackson, Randolph-Macon College

 OL: Matt Rittenhouse, Christopher Newport University

 OL: Daniel Small, Shenandoah University

 OL: A.C. Woolard, Averett University


 DL: Andrew Frailer, Washington and Lee University

 DL: Steve McNair, Randolph-Macon College

 DL: Phil Pullen, Hampden-Sydney College

 DL: Jordan Rice, Shenandoah University

 LB: Will Corry, Washington and Lee University

 LB: Ivan Phillips, Emory & Henry College

 LB: Conner Showalter, Averett University

 CB: Jake Herzog, Christopher Newport University

 CB: Jaylyn Kreimes, Emory & Henry College

 S: Calvin Whitehead, Randolph-Macon College

 S: Matt Dang, Bridgewater College


 PK: Dylan Curran, Christopher Newport University

 P: Grayson Harvey, Ferrum College

 RS: Jordan Foster, Randolph-Macon College