Davis and Wedge, Named to VaSID All-State Football Second Team

Davis and Wedge, Named to VaSID All-State Football Second Team

BRIDGEWATER, Va. — The Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) announce the 2018 College Division All-State football teams on Monday, with Neil Davis and Akiva Wedge both named to the All-State Second Team.

Since joining the Division III ranks, this is the first time the Knights have had two players named to an All-State team.

Davis and Wedge were also honored at the end of the football season with All-NJAC First Team honors, also the first for the Knights.

On the defensive side of the ball, junior safety Davis recorded 86 total tackles, including 49 solo, along with two fumble recoveries, three interceptions, and eight pass breakups. Davis was awarded NJAC Defensive Player of the Week honors after a career-high 19 tackles against Salisbury. This is the second time Davis has earned the College Division All-State  Second Team honors.

The Knights offense this season was anchored by a solid running game with Wedge at its center. In his junior campaign, Wedge broke the 1,000-yard barrier in just ten games, rushing for 1,032 yards. His 103.2 rushing yards per game led the NJAC. He also averaged 5.3 yards per carry and broke out a career-long 73-yard touchdown run against The College of New Jersey. Wedge accounted for six touchdowns for the Knights. This is Wedge's first time earning the VaSiD All-State team honors.

VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a University or conference in the state of Virginia.


Offensive Player of the Year: Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah University
Defensive Player of the Year: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Kaleb Smith, Hampden-Sydney College
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Joseph Ledbetter, Averett University
Coach of the Year: Pedro Arruza, Randolph-Macon College

First Team 
QB: Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah University
RB: Tre Frederick, Randolph-Macon College
RB: Brian Mann, Ferrum College
WR: Major Morgan, Hampden-Sydney College
WR: Casey Stewart, Shenandoah University
TE: Sam Tanner, Randolph-Macon College
OL: Greg Castle, Randolph-Macon College
OL: Michael Head, Averett University
OL: Mitch Hornsby, Washington and Lee University
OL: Matt Rittenhouse, Christopher Newport University
OL: Jake Wernle, Randolph-Macon College

DL: Ben James, Christopher Newport University
DL: John Kline, Hampden-Sydney College
DL: Joseph Ledbetter, Averett University
DL: Steve McNair, Randolph-Macon College
LB: Yonis Blanco, Randolph-Macon College
LB: Dejon Brooks, Averett University
LB: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College
CB: Damian Jiggetts, Christopher Newport University
CB: Daquan Pridget, Shenandoah University
S: Chad Vanlandingham, Hampden-Sydney College
S: Anthony Williams, Randolph-Macon College

PK: Chris Vidal, Randolph-Macon College
P: Cole Westberry, Averett University
RS: Bradley Jefferson, Averett University

Second Team 
QB: Alec Cobb, Hampden-Sydney College
RB: Josh Breece, Washington and Lee University
RB: Akiva Wedge, Southern Virginia University
WR: Joshua Davis, Christopher Newport University
WR: Eric Hoy, Randolph-Macon College
TE: Grant Monson, Bridgewater College
OL: Sean Clark, Washington and Lee University
OL: Andrew Grage, Hampden-Sydney College
OL: Will Hoffman, Bridgewater College
OL: Jordan Sawyer, Christopher Newport University
OL: Tyler Weterrings, Emory & Henry College

DL: Andrew Frailer, Washington and Lee University
DL: Johnathon Johnson, Ferrum College
DL: Muhammad Khan, Bridgewater College
DL: Khris Smith, Apprentice School
LB: Will Corry, Washington and Lee University
LB: Griffin Davis, Hampden-Sydney College
LB: Donavan Montague, University of Virginia-Wise
CB: Raekwon Jackson, Apprentice School
CB: D.J. Wright, Christopher Newport University
S: Matt Dang, Bridgewater College
S: Neil Davis, Southern Virginia University

PK: Cole Westberry, Averett University
P: Bo Sheridan, Washington & Lee University
RS: Davonta Womack, Bridgewater College