Five Women's Basketball Players Earn USCAA Honors

Five Women's Basketball Players Earn USCAA Honors

UNIONTOWN, Pa. - The Southern Virginia University women's basketball team had five of its players named to post-season USCAA honors. Junior forward, Nicole Tolman, and sophomore guard, Mina Romito, were both named to the USCAA All-American Honorable Mention team. The duo was the leading scorers for the Knights all season long. Tolman also was the team's leading rebounder, as the Knights followed Tolman and Romito's lead to make a return to the national tournament after a one year absence.

Tolman led the team in points(12.5 ppg) and rebounds(8.3 rpg), and added eight double-doubles on the season. She also led the team in free-throw percentage while hitting on almost 51% of her shots from the field. Romito was second on the team in scoring(12.3 ppg) despite missing out on 9-games due to an injury. She hit on 39% of her shots from 3-point range, and was the team's second leading rebounder at 5.9 rpg.

The Knights also made an impression on the academic end of things, as four players from the team were named to the USCAA National All-Academic team. Tolman headlined the group that included Jenna Aldridge, Danielle Boyle and Jasmin Johnson.

Aldridge and Johnson were two of the three seniors on the team, and are headed to the post-season for the last time in their career. The honor for the duo caps a season in which the Knights have steadily risen up the national rankings, and have a #4 seed heading in to the tournament. Boyle's award is a reward for a sophomore year in which she battled through injuries, and also made a return to the court after having to sit out a large part of her freshman year with a concussion.

The Academic National team consists of players who are sophomores or higher, and have a 3.5 GPA. The four SVU members on the team represent the most the program has ever had. The Knights will wait to see who there second round opponent will be. SVU is not scheduled to play until Mar. 3 when they take on the winner of Southern Maine CC and Spaulding University.