Gonzalez Earns Capital One Academic All-District Honors

Gonzalez Earns Capital One Academic All-District Honors

Written by Sean Dahlin

BUENA VISTA, Va.—Sophomore Patrick Gonzalez (Riverside, Calif.) of the Southern Virginia University men's cross country team was named today to the Capital One Academic All-District Men's Track/Cross Country First Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

"Patrick was the backbone of the men's team this year and will only continue to improve throughout his career," said second-year Head Coach Logan Davis. "It's rewarding as a coach to see our top runner also be nominated for this academic honor." 

The all-district teams are divided into eight districts and are separated by NCAA Divisions I, II, III and College Division—including NAIA, two-year and independent institutions. To be recognized, the scholar-athlete must have at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and serve as a key contributor to the team. 

Gonzalez was selected from District One, which is comprised of colleges and universities from 16 different states ranging from Maine to North Carolina. He will also be considered for the Capital One Academic All-American Team to be announced the end of June. 

Gonzalez, who returned from a two-year mission in Argentina for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Jan. 2012, had a standout sophomore year at Southern Virginia highlighted by a third-place finish overall on Nov. 9, 2012, in the 26-team, 182-runner USCAA Men's Cross Country National Championship 8K-race garnering him All-American First Team honors. 

In addition to his hard work in the classroom, Gonzalez became the first Southern Virginia scholar-athlete to earn CAC All-Conference honors after finishing 8th overall in the Capital Athletic Conference Cross Country Championship meet on Oct. 27, 2012, with an 8K time of 28:06.38 good enough for a spot on the All-Conference Second Team. 

Gonzalez is the second academic all-district selection in men's cross country program history—Jeff White won the award in 2007-08.