Men's and Women's Tennis Teams and 15 Student-Athletes Earn ITA All-Academic Awards

Men's and Women's Tennis Teams and 15 Student-Athletes Earn ITA All-Academic Awards

TEMPE, Az. — The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) today announced the men's and women's ITA All-Academic Awards with both Southern Virginia University men's and women's teams earning All-Academic Team honors and a combined 15 student-athletes being named ITA Scholar-Athletes. 

The awards mark milestones in both the men's and women's teams as the individual and team awards are the first to be received in program history. 

"It has been wonderful working with a team that is equally as talented on the court and in the classroom," said head coach Thomas Snelson. "It is great seeing these individuals achieve such a high honor."

Earning individual honors for the women's team were seniors Elizabeth Fuchs, Mercedes Matley, and Audrey Zalar, who wrapped up impressive careers totaling 114 combined wins in singles and doubles matches. Along with the seniors, junior Leeanne Aldrich, sophomores Alyssa Sewell and Kelly Candland, and freshman Jenna Hinkle joined the ranks of receiving the award. 

On the men's team, VaSID All-State Duos Second team duo Paul Monsen and Marcos Dias (VaSID Rookie of the Year), and VaSID All-State Singles Second Teamer Kukutla Motlojoa earned Individual honors. Joining Monsen, Dias and Motlojoa were sophomores Tanner Bassett, Jake Fisher, William Stoddard, junior Andrew Blonquist, and freshman Samuel Larson

To be named ITA Scholar-Athlete, players must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year and be listed on the institutional eligibility form. 

To be named an ITA All-Academic Team, programs must have a team grade point average of 3.2 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All student-athletes included should be listed on the institutional eligibility form, and all varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year. 

Full ITA All-Academic Awards release here.