Begg Earns Major VaSID Award

Begg Earns Major VaSID Award

By Nick Porter

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.—The Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) announced the College Division All-State Baseball teams this weekend, naming freshman Marcus Begg as Rookie of the Year and to the All-State second team. 

The College Division includes all non-division-I programs in Virginia. 

Begg becomes the first player from Southern Virginia in any sport to earn a major VaSID award.

Last month he was named the Capital Athletic Conference rookie of the year and earned All-CAC first team honors.

The Clearwater, Florida native led the Knights in nearly every offensive category this year, batting .403 (fourth highest in the CAC) with 33 RBI, 6 homers and 52 total hits. 

During the year Begg was named National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association's Hitter of the Week and earned CAC Athlete of the Week honors at the same time. He was also named the the CAC weekly honor roll twice during the season.

The thirdbaseman became the first CAC Rookie of the Year in baseball program history, and the second in school history. 

2016 VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Teams

Player of the Year: Travis Lodge, Randolph-Macon College
Pitcher of the Year: James Walsh, Randolph-Macon College
Rookie of the Year: Marcus Begg, Southern Virginia University
Coach of the Year: Ray Hedrick, Randolph-Macon College

First Team
C - James Keller, University of Mary Washington
1B - Connor Henderson, Christopher Newport University
2B - Joe Tomasulo, Lynchburg College
3B - Travis Lodge, Randolph-Macon College
SS - Brandon Kussmaul, Virginia Wesleyan College
OF - Abel Arocho, Shenandoah University
OF - Kenner Berry, Bridgewater College
OF - Tommy Vitaletti, Christopher Newport University
DH - Jake Loew, Shenandoah University
UTIL - Rick Spiers, Randolph-Macon College 

SP - Tom Concklin, Washington & Lee University
SP - Jake Perkins, Ferrum College
SP - Michael Scimanico, Shenandoah University
SP - James Walsh, Randolph-Macon College
RP - Phil Morse, Shenandoah University
RP - Hunter Peck, Ferrum College

Second Team
C - Mitchell Keeler, Randolph-Macon College
1B - Stephen Johnston, University of Mary Washington
2B - Keith Roberts, Christopher Newport University
3B - Marcus Begg, Southern Virginia University
SS - Lee Carneal, Hampden-Sydney College
OF - Brian Goodwyn, Hampden-Sydney College
OF - Brandon Lineberry, Emory & Henry College
OF - Mitch Moynihan, University of Mary Washington
DH - Nick Maiolo, Randolph-Macon College
UTIL - Ty Lighton, University of Virginia at Wise

SP - Taylor Gomer, Newport News Apprentice School
SP - Colin Morse, Shenandoah University
SP - T.J. Viracola, Averett University
RP - Danny Devereux, Washington & Lee University
RP - Dylan Gonzales, Hampden-Sydney College